Scorn and Sadness

The next shot carries on straight from the last with the older sister turning to stare in disbelief at the younger. We shot some reference with Michel.

During the the animation process I felt I should be looking up some reference of a female expression of disbelief to give myself a better idea of how the Older sisters muscles would move.

Jane-Eyre25-Mocking-Me
(Sourced from here.)

Diane-in-Disbelief-say-anything-9028998-1920-1080
(Sourced from here.)

A few weeks earlier my lecturer Mike had shared an assessment of the facial animation seen in Zootopia.
zootopia07

(Sourced from here.)
It discussed the techniques of  anticipation and overshoot when animating faces. Something I tried to keep in the back of my mind while I was working.
Anticipation_Wee_Sis

I should note that there is a cut during this shot which is why the little sisters head drops, to sink with her lowering in the other shot.

I’m quite happy with the little Sister’s reaction but looking back now I feel the older sisters is a too stiff and could be more squashy or extreme.

This entry was posted in Final Year and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment